Hi, my name is Jessika. Currently, I am in my first year of college studying Biotechnology. I also happen to have social anxiety and generalized anxiety disorder. I have lived with anxiety of some sort my whole life though I was only diagnosed with GAD and social anxiety last year in grade twelve.

Just before going to college this year, I was put on antidepressants for my social anxiety to try to ease the anxiety of moving to a new place all by myself for school. Since I have started the medication, I have actually been able to go on the bus by myself, go shopping by myself, and book my own appointments. These are all things that normally, I would have been terrified to do by myself. Even though I have made amazing progress, I am still unable to initiate conversations with strangers or just generally talk to strangers.

Other than my anxiety and school life, I am also a military brat. For those of you who may not know what a military brat is, it is a child of a member of the military. Many military families move around often and my family is no different. With me being nineteen now, I have lived in eight different houses and that is not even counting my dorm room where I am living now. Living in Canada, we have provinces and territories and while I have never lived in any territories I have lived in four different provinces.

I am a massive geek/nerd. I absolutely love science fiction. Some of my favourite fandoms are Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Supernatural, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Criminal Minds, Alice in Wonderland, X-Files, Harry Potter (I’m a Hufflepuff), Marvel, and DC. I love going to conventions and cosplaying as my favourite characters, some of my most recent cosplays include a female version of the eleventh doctor, the female version of Castiel, Harley Quinn, and myself as the LOTR elf that I am. On top of all that, I am a massive book-worm, I love reading many types of different books that range from John Green’s books to Stephen King’s.